AOC And Other Democrats Boycott State Of The Union Address

(Photo by Yana Paskova/Getty Images)

In yet another desperate attempt to convince people they’re relevant, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) and a handful of other House Democrats announced they would boycott President Trump’s State of the Union address.

As of Tuesday afternoon, according to reports from The Hill and Axios, the following Democrats will not attend the address: Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), Rep. Ayanna Pressley (D-MA), Rep. Al Green (D-TX), Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN), Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Rep. Hank Johnson (D-GA), Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL).

“After much deliberation, I have decided that I will not use my presence at a state ceremony to normalize Trump’s lawless conduct & subversion of the Constitution,” Ocasio-Cortez said.

“None of this is normal, and I will not legitimize it. Consequently, I will not be attending the State of the Union,” she continued.

“This is a deeply personal decision for each member to make, and a choice I did not take lightly. I will be hopping on Instagram Live later this evening to connect with my constituents and follow up with their questions about #SOTU,” she added.

Fellow “squad” member Congresswoman Pressley posted, “The State of the Union is hurting because of the occupant of the White House, who consistently demonstrates contempt for the American people, contempt for Congress & contempt for our constitution. I cannot in good conscience attend tonight’s sham.”